• Calling Volunteer Reviewers for J&J Quick Fire Challenge

    Can you spot an idea with the power to transform maternal and newborn health? AWHONN partnered with Johnson & Johnson on their Nurses Innovate Quickfire Challenge in Maternal and Newborn Health, and we need nurse volunteers to review the applications. The applicants with the best idea(s) receive up to $100,000 in grant funding, and you can be part of helping to bring their ideas to life.


    Volunteer for this opportunity. The deadline is Monday, October 14.

  • 2020 AWHONN Elections Results

    AWHONN is pleased to announce and welcome the members of the 2020 Board of Directors.


    Cyndy Krening, MS, CNS, RNC-OB, C-EFM 
    Colorado, Region II

    Suzanne Baird, DPN, RN
    Tennessee, Region VI
    Kellie Griggs, DNP, MSN-Ed, RNC-OB
    North Carolina, Region VI
    Cheryl Larry-Osman, RN, MS, CNM, CNS *
    Michigan, Region III


    AWHONN is pleased to announce the results of the 2020 Section Elections.


    • Chair: Danette Schloeder MSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM*
    • Secretary Treasurer: Bree Lind*

    Armed Forces

    • Secretary Treasurer:  Jeanette Anderson BSN, MSN, RN-C
    • Navy Representative:  Suzanne Maldarelli RN, BSN, MSN
    • Army Representative (also serves as Section Chair): Brandy Clayton RNC-Inpatient, OB
    • Air Force Representative:  Amber Barker WHNP-BC, RNC-Inpt, OB
    • Civilian Representative:  April Dunne, RN


    • Chair:  Beth Stephens-Hennessy RNC-OB, C-EFM, MSN, CNS*
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Kandice Duns MSN, BSN, RN C-EFM*


    • Chair:  Lisa Enslow MSN, RN-BC, CLC
    • Secretary Treasurer: Edite Weddle BSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM, CCE*


    • Chair:  Rita Nutt BSN, CNS, DNP, MSN*


    • Chair:  Nancy Travis RN, BSN, MS*
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Shannon Stalbird BSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM


    • Chair:  Elizabeth McIntire RN, MSN, WHNP-BC, C-EFM*
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Jill Colvin BSN, RNC


    • Chair:  Courtney Weekley MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, RNC-OB
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Samantha Port DNP, MBA, RNC-OB, C-EFM, CPPS, CPHQ*


    • Chair: Michelle Amstutz, RN*


    • Chair:  Judy Wilson-Griffin MSN, PNCNS, RNC-OB, C-EFM*

    New Hampshire

    • Chair: Colleen Whatley MSN, CNS-BC, RNC-OB*
    • Secretary Treasurer: Nicole Pendenza BSN, RNC-NIC*

    New Jersey

    • Chair: Patricia Suplee PhD, RNC-OB
    • Secretary Treasurer: Suzanne Spernal DNP, APN-BC, RNC-OB


    • Chair:  Evelyn Radichel MS, RN-BC
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Kristy Wente RNC, MS


    • Chair:  Michelle Hirschkorn MSN, RNC-OB, CNS
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Donna Talain RNC-OB, BSN, MBA*

    South Carolina

    • Chair:  Michelle Flanagan BSN, RNC*
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Kimberly McPherson BSN, RNC, C-EFM, CLC* 

    South Dakota

    • Chair:  Michelle Sand, RN


    • Chair:  Terrie Price DNP, MSN, RNC-OB
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Tie / There will be a run-off election


    • Chair:  Tiffany Hanson MHA, MSN, RNC-OB, C-EFM
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Tamara Ferney MSN, RNC-OB


    • Chair:  Deborah Schumacher BSN, RCN-OB, C-EFM
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Keri Meverden RN, CLC*


    • Chair:  Josephine LeMaster RNC-OB, MSN, EFM*
    • Secretary Treasurer:  Michelle Wood RN, BSN